2019 Honorees

Corporate Counsel Best Legal Departments

Best Legal Department, Winner


Best Legal Department, Finalist

Guardian Life Insurance Co. of America

General Counsel of the Year, Finalists

Anne-Marie Eileraas


Peter J. Beshar
Marsh & McLennan

Anat Hakim

Compliance Department of the Year


Best Use of Technology

U.S. Bank

Startup GC of the Year

Natalie Grunfeld

The American Lawyer Awards

Law Firm of the Year Finalists

Covington & Burling
Cravath, Swaine & Moore
Latham & Watkins
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Reed Smith

Attorney of the Year Finalists

Theodore Boutrous Jr., Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Michelle Fang, Turo
Joanna Litt

Finalists for Litigation Department of the Year — General

Cravath, Swaine & Moore
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
O’Melveny & Myers
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Quinn, Emanuel, Urquhart & Sullivan
Sidley Austin

Litigators of the Year Winners (Grand Prize Winner announced Dec. 4)

Ted Boutrous of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Evan Chesler of Cravath, Swaine & Moore
Shay Dvoretzky of Jones Day
Roberta Kaplan of Kaplan Hecker & Fink
David Lender of Weil, Gotshal & Manges
Sigrid McCawley of Boies Schiller Flexner
Sharon Nelles of Sullivan & Cromwell
Rob Saunders of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Finalists for Products Liability Department of the Year

Arnold & Porter
Covington & Burling
O’Melveny & Myers

Finalists for Intellectual Property Department of the Year

Fish & Richardson
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Perkins Coie
Williams & Connolly

Finalists for Regulatory/White-Collar Department of the Year

Covington & Burling
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Sullivan & Cromwell

Finalists for the National Specialty/Boutique Litigation Firm of the Year

Bartlit Beck
Fish & Richardson
Keker Van Nest & Peters
Stris Maher
Susman Godfrey
Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell
Yetter Coleman

Regional Litigation Departments of the Year Finalists


Fish & Richardson
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Latham & Watkins
O’Melveny & Myers
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe


Greenberg Traurig
Holland & Knight


Greenberg Traurig
Jones Day
King & Spalding

New Jersey

Greenberg Traurig
McCarter & English


Cozen O’Connor
Hogan Lovells


Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld
Baker Botts
Susman Godfrey

Best Alternative Legal Service Provider Finalists


Best Mentor—In-House Finalists

Brian Elworthy, Toast
Katie Lawler, U.S. Bank
Daniel H. Weintraub, Audax Group
Stacy Weiske, Avanade

Best Mentor—Law Firm

Debra Belott, Jones Day
Beth Ferrill, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner
Belinda Lee, Latham & Watkins
Natalie Pierce, Littler Mendelson
Barry Wolf, Weil, Gotshal & Manges
Kimberly Zirkle, Moore & Van Allen

Best Law Firm-Client Team

Hogan Lovells / Mylan
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius / Exelon
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison / General Atlantic
Polsinelli / Sprint
Reed Smith / Eisai
Shook Hardy & Bacon / Speedway

Best Business Team

Ballard Spahr
Fish & Richardson
Goodwin Procter
Littler Mendelson
Reed Smith

Best Use of Technology

Davis, Polk & Wardwell
Littler Mendelson
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
Perkins Coie

Legal Services Innovation

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Littler Mendelson
Reed Smith
Ropes & Gray

Tony Mauro Media Lawyer of the Year

Laura Prather
Haynes and Boone

CNN’s legal department, led by David Vigilante and Drew Shenkman

Global Legal Awards

Global Finance Deal of the Year

  • Altice USA’s single credit silo: Paul Hastings; Ropes & Gray; Littleton Glover of Goldman Sachs
  • Cheniere LNG financing: Sullivan & Cromwell
  • Comcast’s acquisition of Sky: Davis Polk & Wardwell; Shearman & Sterling; Jessica M. Schaefer of Bank of America
  • Danaos Corp. restructuring: Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom; Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Kirkland & Ellis; Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld; Willkie Farr & Gallagher; Evangelos Chatzis of Danaos Corp.
  • Enel Chile reorganization: Winston & Strawn; Cravath, Swaine & Moore; Carey y Cia; Cariola Díez Pérez-Cotapos; Garrigues; Alessandri & Cia; Domingo Valdes of Enel Chile
  • Seadrill Ltd. restructuring: White & Case; Kirkland & Ellis; BAHR; Slaughter and May; Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft; Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson; Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld; Willkie Farr & Gallagher; Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel; Stroock & Stroock & Lavan; Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison; Thommessen; Conyers Dill & Pearman; Quinn Emmanuel Urquhart & Sullivan; Selmer; Zuill & Co.; Patton, Moreno & Asvat; Peter Cassizzi of DNB; Jo Stokke of GIEK
  • SIG Combibloc Group refinancing: Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson; Latham & Watkins; Bär & Karrer; Binder Grösswang; Schoenherr; Chandler MHM; Baker McKenzie; Lenz & Staehelin; MinterEllison; Buddle Findlay; NautaDutilh; Arendt & Medernach; TozziniFreire Advogados; Veirano Advogados; Alex Holden of Goldman Sachs; Abira Gupta of Credit Suisse International

Global Litigation/Dispute Resolution of the Year

  • $501M damages award in Otto Warmbier’s death: McGuireWoods
  • Chevron and Texaco’s arbitration battle with the Republic of Ecuador: King & Spalding; Three Crowns
  • Defense of Vicinay Cadenas in $550M property damage suit: Norton Rose Fulbright
  • Republic of Costa Rica investor-state arbitration: Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Ukrainian investors’ suit over Crimea occupation: Hughes Hubbard & Reed
  • Vale’s $2B arbitration award against BSGR: Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Global M&A Deal of the Year

  • Bayer AG acquisition of Monsanto: Sullivan & Cromwell; Arnold & Porter; Dechert
  • Carlyle Group’s acquisition of AkzoNobel Specialty Chemicals: Latham & Watkins; Proskauer Rose; Kirkland & Ellis; Nick Reid of The Carlyle Group; Loyens & Loeff; De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek
  • Hitachi acquisition of ABB power grids: Baker McKenzie; Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer; Laurent Bouvier, UBS
  • SAP SE acquisition of Qualtrics International: Goodwin Procter; Jones Day; JPMorgan
  • Shire’s acquisition of Takeda: Davis Polk & Wardwell; Slaughter and May; Linklaters
  • Walt Disney Co. acquisition of Twenty-First Century Fox: Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom; Cravath, Swaine & Moore; Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson; Gerson Zweifach and Janet Nova of Twenty-First Century Fox; Goldman Sachs; Centerview Partners; Deutsche Bank

Global Pro Bono Deal of the Year

  • A victory for torture victim Farhan Mohamoud Tani Warfaa: DLA Piper
  • Citizenship for foreign national U.S. Army reservists: Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson
  • FDA approval to address river blindness in rural Africa: Hogan Lovells
  • Justice for war correspondent Marie Colvin’s assassination: Shearman & Sterling
  • Report on human rights abuses of trans and gender-diverse individuals: Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
  • Reuniting separated families: Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
  • Rule of Law in Africa initiative: Jones Day

Lifetime Achievement

  • Steven Brill of Newsguard
  • Elizabeth Cabraser of Lieff, Cabraser, Heimann & Bernstein
  • William Lee of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
  • Shira Scheindlin of Stroock & Stroock & Lavan
  • Mary Jo White of Debevoise & Plimpton
  • Stephen Zack of Boies Schiller Flexner

Distinguished Law Firm Leader

Bradford Malt of Ropes & Gray

2019 A-List Firms

Munger, Tolles & Olson
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
Ropes & Gray
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
Covington & Burling
Debevoise & Plimpton
O'Melveny & Myers
Morrison & Foerster
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Hughes Hubbard & Reed
Paul Hastings
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Kirkland & Ellis
Shearman & Sterling
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
Latham & Watkins