Download The Asia Legal Awards 2022 Programme

Deal Awards

Finance Deal of the Year: Acquisitions

Hillhouse Capital's US$4.4 billion acquisition of Philips Domestic Appliances
Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas
De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek
Haiwen & Partners

Finance Deal of the Year: Insolvency and Restructuring

US$170 billion restructuring of Hong Kong-listed HNA Holdings
Baker McKenzie
Clifford Chance
Han Kun Law Offices

Finance Deal of the Year: Projects

Financing for Taiwan's Zhong Neng Offshore Wind Project
Baker McKenzie
Lee and Li
Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe
White & Case

M&A Deal of the Year: North Asia

Incorporation of blockchain platform "Global Shipping Business Network"
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Kim & Chang
Philippi, Prietocarrizosa Ferrero DU & Uría
Tiang & Partners
Xin Bai Law Firm

M&A Deal of the Year: South and South East Asia

Grab Holdings' US$40 billion SPAC deal and listing
Hughes Hubbard & Reed
Morrison & Foerster
Nishimura & Asahi
Ropes & Gray
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
Sullivan & Cromwell

Securities Deal of the Year: Debt

Kaisa's US$3 billion new notes offering
Commerce & Finance Law Offices
Jia Yuan Law Office
Sidley Austin

Securities Deal of the Year: Equity

Zomato Limited's US$12 billion IPO
Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas
Latham & Watkins

TMT Deal of the Year

US$5.6 billion privatisation of
Davis Polk & Wardwell
Fangda partners
Haiwen Partners
Kirkland & Ellis
Maples and Calder
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
Sullivan & Cromwell
Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Private Equity Deal of the Year

Kuehne+Nagel's US$1.5 billion acquisition of Apex International
Baker McKenzie
Haiwen Partners
Ropes & Gray

Firm Awards

Dispute Resolution Firm of the Year

Herbert Smith Freehills

Finance Firm of the Year

Nishimura & Asahi

Intellectual Property Firm of the Year

Fangda Partners

Investment Funds Firm of the Year

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett

M&A Firm of the Year (Large deal $500M or above)

King & Wood Mallesons

M&A Firm of the Year (Medium-sized deal under $500M)

Commerce & Finance Law Offices in Association with Eric Chow & Co.

Offshore Law Firm of the Year


Securities Firm of the Year

Davis Polk & Wardwell

TMT Firm of the Year

Morrison & Foerster

Asian Diversity Initiative of the Year

Hogan Lovells

Asian Pro Bono Initiative of the Year

Hogan Lovells

Asian Technology and Innovation Initiative of the Year

DLA Piper

Best Crisis Management Initiative of the Year

Lee & Ko

Individual Awards

Data Privacy Lawyer of the Year

Anna Gamvros, Norton Rose Fulbright

International Trade Lawyer of the Year

Tatman Savio, Akin Gump

IPO Lawyer of the Year

Li He, Davis Polk & Wardwell

Private Equity Lawyer of the Year

Ian Ho, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett

Energy and Infrastructure Lawyer of the Year

Matthias Schemuth, DLA Piper

Private Client Lawyer of the Year

Stacy Choong, Withers KhattarWong

In-House Awards

Asian Alternative Legal Service Offering of the Year


Asian In-House Legal Department of the Year


General Counsel of the Year

Carlos Estrada, The Adecco Group

ACC Outstanding Achievement Award

Erika Evasdottir, Centrium Advisory Services

Grand Prizes

International Law Firm Leader of the Year

David Zemans, Milbank

Asian Law Firm Leader of the Year

Cyril Shroff, Cyril Amarchand & Mangaldas

International Law Firm of the Year


Asian Law Firm of the Year

Kim & Chang